Tokyo Game Show 2026: Scheduled 17-21 September, the Final In-Person Day Was Cancelled for Typhoon 25 — 257,642 Visitors Over Four Days
Tokyo Game Show 2026 was scheduled for 17-21 September at Makuhari Messe. The in-person day on 21 September was cancelled for Typhoon 25; the four days from 17 to 20 September drew 257,642 visitors.
The 21 September in-person day was cancelled
On 20 September the organisers announced that the in-person day planned for 21 September at Makuhari Messe was cancelled for the whole day because of the approach of Typhoon 25. The in-person show therefore ran for four days, 17-20 September.[3][4]
What was cancelled was attendance at the venue. The notice said the official programme was scheduled to be streamed on 21 September without visitors attending, along with online streams from some exhibitors, and directed readers to exhibitors' own sites and social accounts for details.[3]
A separate release on 20 September reported total attendance of 257,642 over the four days, 17-20 September, at Makuhari Messe and TKP Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall — not the five days originally scheduled.[4]
CESA published refund information for tickets for 21 September on 25 September. The refund method and refund period vary depending on where you purchased your ticket and the type of ticket, so ticket holders need the notice for their seller.[5]
The original schedule
CESA's overview gives the original dates as 17-21 September 2026 at Makuhari Messe; the Nikkei BP exhibitor site called it the longest run in TGS history, at five days. 17-18 September were business days and 19-21 September public days.[1][2]
The venue listing is Makuhari Messe Exhibition Halls 1-11 and the International Conference Hall, plus TKP Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall. The organiser is CESA, with Nikkei BP and Sony Music Solutions as co-organisers, supported by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry and the Agency for Cultural Affairs.[1]
The originally scheduled hours
The originally published hours were 10:00-17:00 on both business days, 9:30-17:00 on 19 and 20 September and 9:30-16:00 on 21 September. The 21 September hours did not apply, because the in-person day was cancelled.[1]
The overview also said that on public days "the opening time may be 30 minutes earlier depending on the circumstances" — a conditional, not a scheduled earlier opening.[1]
The holiday calendar
The official schedule listed 21 September as a Monday / Public Holiday. According to the Cabinet Office, 21 September 2026 was Respect for the Aged Day, 22 September a substitute holiday and 23 September Autumnal Equinox Day, so with the weekend the holidays ran from 19 to 23 September (this page's reading of the calendar). Any effect on trains or hotels is not covered by these sources.[1][7]
Tickets
CESA's ticket page says that tickets will not be sold on the day of the event for either domestic or international attendees, and that tickets must be bought in advance through ticket agencies.[6]
Verified facts
Each fact is labelled with its evidence typeEach fact in this section carries its evidence type — either cross-checked against independent sources, or confirmed from a single authoritative record.
According to CESA's overview, Tokyo Game Show 2026 was originally scheduled for 17-21 September 2026 at Makuhari Messe, with business days on 17-18 September and public days on 19-21 September.[1] 1 source · authoritative record
The organiser is the Computer Entertainment Supplier's Association (CESA), with Nikkei BP and Sony Music Solutions as co-organisers.[1] 1 source · authoritative record
CESA announced that the in-person event planned for 21 September was cancelled for the whole day because of Typhoon No. 25, and that total attendance over the four days from 17 to 20 September, at Makuhari Messe and TKP Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall, was 257,642.[3][4] 1 source · authoritative record
CESA announced refunds for tickets for September 21; the refund method and period vary by where the ticket was purchased and the ticket type.[5] 1 source · authoritative record
In 2026, 21 September (Respect for the Aged Day), 22 September (a substitute holiday) and 23 September (Autumnal Equinox Day) were national holidays in Japan.[7] 1 source · authoritative record
Statements and readings
Not counted as facts — each item shows what kind of statement it isFrom here on: statements not counted as facts — single-source reports, the issuing body’s own statements, and this page’s own readings, each labeled.
Originally scheduled opening hours were 10:00-17:00 on both business days, 9:30-17:00 on 19 and 20 September, and 9:30-16:00 on 21 September. The 21 September hours did not apply because the in-person day was cancelled.[1] Stated by the issuing body itself (primary source) · not independently verified · Hours as published in the CESA official overview
The official overview states that on public days "the opening time may be 30 minutes earlier depending on the circumstances".[1] Stated by the issuing body itself (primary source) · not independently verified · Conditional wording quoted from the CESA official overview
The venue is listed as Makuhari Messe Exhibition Halls 1-11 and the International Conference Hall, plus TKP Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall.[1] Stated by the issuing body itself (primary source) · not independently verified · Venue listing in the CESA official overview
The Nikkei BP exhibitor site describes 2026 as the longest run in TGS history, at five days.[2] Stated by the issuing body itself (primary source) · not independently verified · Nikkei BP (co-organiser) exhibitor site
The event is supported by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry and the Agency for Cultural Affairs.[1] Stated by the issuing body itself (primary source) · not independently verified · Supporter listing in the CESA official overview
Timeline
- 2026-02-10
Organisers set TGS 2026 for 17-21 September at Makuhari Messe, the longest run in TGS history.[2]
- 2026-09-17
Business day 1 (10:00-17:00).[1]
- 2026-09-19
Public days begin (9:30-17:00).[1]
- 2026-09-20
Show closes after four days; organisers report 257,642 visitors.[4]
- 2026-09-21
In-person day cancelled for the whole day because of Typhoon 25; the official programme was scheduled to be streamed without attendance.[3][4]
- 2026-09-25
CESA publishes refund information for 21 September tickets.[5]
Outcome
- Model
- claude-opus-5
- Time
- 09/11/2026, 08:00
- Body characters
- 2,475
- Sources
- 7 sources adopted
- Model
- ChatGPT (checked sources on the web)
- Time
- 10/07/2026, 12:30
- Verdict
- Revision required
Show revision history (6)
| 09/11/2026, 08:00 | First authored (claude-opus-5) | Created |
| 09/19/2026 | Rechecked the official overview the day before public days open: dates, hours and the "30 minutes earlier" caveat all unchanged. No body edit needed; source dates made precise. | Updated |
| 09/21/2026 | This page still listed 21 September as a public day closing at 16:00. Checking the official site showed the in-person day had been cancelled outright because of Typhoon 25, with the programme streamed without attendance, and that the show had closed after four days with 257,642 visitors. Both official notices were opened and quoted. What happens to 21 September tickets was not stated there, and that gap is recorded rather than guessed at. | Updated |
| 09/21/2026 | The English page quotes the Japanese notice directly, which is deliberate — the original wording matters. But an English reader cannot read the bracketed text, so a literal rendering now sits beside each quote. The Japanese is kept so the wording can still be checked against the source. | Updated |
| 09/30/2026 | Closed the page and brought its headline text in line with its own timeline. An earlier revision had recorded the cancellation of 21 September, but the title, summary, FAQ and an opening-hours statement still presented that day as open. This is the second page in two days where a revision note described a change that the page text had not received; the text itself, not the note, is what was checked. The attendance figure is in the organiser's Japanese release as 25万7642人, which a search for "257,642" does not find - numbers need their written variants checked. | Updated |
| 10/07/2026 | Revised after independent review: added CESA's refund notice and ticket page and the Cabinet Office holiday list, and presented the schedule as the original plan. | Updated |
Corrections
| 09/30/2026 | The title, summary, two FAQ answers and one statement still described 21 September as a public day closing at 16:00. The organiser cancelled that in-person day because of Typhoon 25, and the show ran four days with 257,642 visitors. The timeline and an earlier revision note already recorded this; the headline text had not been brought in line. The schedule is now presented as the plan it was, with the cancellation stated. Checked 2026-09-30. | Applied |
| 10/07/2026 | The title now says the final in-person day was cancelled, not the final day. Streaming on 21 September is described as scheduled, as the notice states. The sentence saying the 21 September ticket arrangements were not stated was replaced with CESA's 25 September refund notice. The opening hours are now presented as the original schedule, the 21 September hours are marked as not applied, and the present-tense advice and "today" were removed. The holidays are now cited to the Cabinet Office, and the claims about busy trains and hotels and the "busiest" days were removed. The no-same-day-ticket statement is now cited to CESA's ticket page instead of a companion page. Schedule and organiser facts are attributed to CESA's overview; the exhibitor site is cited only for the longest-run wording. The attendance figure is described as the total for both venues. | Applied |
Frequently asked
When was Tokyo Game Show 2026?
It was scheduled for 17-21 September 2026 at Makuhari Messe. The in-person day on 21 September was cancelled because of Typhoon 25, so the show ran in person for four days, 17-20 September.[1][4]
What were the opening hours?
As originally scheduled: 10:00-17:00 on both business days, 9:30-17:00 on 19 and 20 September and 9:30-16:00 on 21 September. The 21 September hours did not apply because the in-person day was cancelled.[1][4]
How many people attended?
257,642 over the four days from 17 to 20 September, at Makuhari Messe and TKP Tokyo Bay Makuhari Hall, according to CESA.[4]
Are tickets for 21 September refunded?
Yes. CESA announced refunds; the method and period depend on where the ticket was bought and the ticket type.[5]
Could the general public attend on 17 and 18 September?
No. Those were business days. General visitors attended on the public days.[1]
Were tickets sold at the venue?
No. CESA's ticket page says tickets were not sold on the day of the event for either domestic or international attendees.[6]
Official links
Sources
- [1] TOKYO GAME SHOW 2026 - Overview (English) primary
- [2] HOME | TOKYO GAME SHOW 2026 (exhibitor site, English) primary
- [3] 出展各社の最新情報および公式番組オンライン配信のお知らせ (official notice on the 21 September cancellation and online programme) primary
- [4] Show closes after four days; total attendance 257,642 primary
- [5] Refunds for Tickets for September 21 (Monday, National Holiday) primary
- [6] Tickets (Public Days) primary
- [7] 国民の祝日について (2026 national holidays) primary